The Condensed Matter Theory Center Blog

About CMTC

The Condensed Matter Theory Center (CMTC) was created in 2002 by the University of Maryland with the Distinguished University Professor Sankar Das Sarma as its permanent Director. The support for CMTC comes from the University of Maryland and the Laboratory for Physical Sciences (LPS). The sole purpose of CMTC is to maintain sustained excellence in theoretical condensed matter physics (defined in the broadest possible sense) at the University of Maryland. Highly interactive and collaborative research on the deepest frontiers of theoretical condensed matter physics is the primary goal of CMTC. The goal of CMTC is to have the best possible scientific quality in its members (and to foster creative interaction among them) so as to produce a highly visible and active (small) theory center.

Condensed Matter Theory Center

Founded in 2002 by The University of Maryland with Distinguished Professor Sankar Das Sarma as its permanent director.

Dr. Sankar Das Sarma
Distinguished University Professor
Richard E. Prange Chair in Physics
Phone: (301) 405 6145
E-mail: dassarma@umd.edu
Office 4421 ATL

Executive Assistant to the Director
Ms. Rebecca A. Cawthorne
Phone: (301) 405 6168
E-mail: rcawthor@umd.edu
Office 4401D ATL

Physical Address:
Atlantic Building
4254 Stadium Drive
College Park, MD 20742

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started